Coppull, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Coppull, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coppull, Lancashire
Coppull Parish Church contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1757
Bishop's Transcripts: 1793
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

COPPULL, a township, was created originally as a chapel of ease in 1717, and stood within civil parish of Standish, union of Chorley, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster,4 miles (S. S. W.) from Chorley. It is part of the borough of Chorley, lies around 300 feet (91 m) above sea level and has a population of around 7,600. It is bounded by Whittle Brook, Clancutt Brook, the River Yarrow, Eller Brook, Hic-Bibi Brook and Stars Brook. Coppull is located between Chorley and Standish, Greater Manchester, to the east of the A49 road near Charnock Richard. The present church with no dedication in Chapel Lane was rebuilt in 1861.[1]

The first mention of Coppull came in 1215 as Coppull of Worthington. By 1830 Coppull was a rather unimportant agricultural area of a few cottages, houses and farms, and a small chapel to the east.

After 1850 Coppull grew rapidly, many new rows of houses were built to house coal miners and factory workers. There were many collieries and deep shafts were sunk for the John Pit, Springfield Pit, Blainscough, Hic Bibi, Darlingtons, Ellerbeck, Birkacre and Pearsons mines. Mineral lines carried coal tubs to the main railway. Brickworks at Hic Bibi, Coppull Moor and off Mike Lane used Coppull clay for this industrial boom.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Coppull chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Standish to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


COPPULL Chapelry  (1693) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1757-1904 1693-1905 1846-1907
LOPC 1757-1904 1843-1905 1846-1907
LBMD None 1843-1975 None
STANDISH ST WILFRID PARISH (1560) Indexes (ancient parish containing COPPULL Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1560-1656 1560-1656 1813-1900
LOPC 1653-1900 1653-1900 1653-1900
LBMD 1837-1950 1837-1950 1837-1953
FMP None 1558-1837 None
AC 1560-1653 1560-1653 1560-1653


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Coppull and comprising the whole ancient parish of Standish to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the STANDISH PARISH page.

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306913.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Coppull on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 682-685. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 17:30.
  • This page has been accessed 5,915 times.