Corbridge, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Corbridge, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Corbridge, Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; Separate registers exist for Halton beginning 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769; Separate records exist for Halton beginning 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CORBRIDGE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Aydon, Aydon-Castle, Clarewood, Corbridge, Dilston, Halton, Halton-Shields, Thornborough, and Great and Little Whittington; At Halton is a chapel of ease, in the burial-ground of which is a Roman altar. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:
St Andrew Corbridge is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland. Other places in the parish include: Halton, Halton Shields, Little Whittington, Little Whitton, Thornborough, Thornbrough, Aydon, Aydon Castle, Clarewood, Dilston, Great Whittington, and Great Whitton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Corbridge, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CORBRIDGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/59March 1769-1875
Contents: Including transcripts from Halton, 1814-1843 DDR/EA/PBT/2/119 1769-1875
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. It is advisable to search both sets of transcripts as they were assembled in the 1950's with some overlaps. Record Search displays the series under both parish titles.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Corbridge, St Andrew: Records of baptisms 1657-1977, marriages 1657-1991 and burials 1659-1907 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1654-1812 and marriages 1657-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1657-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1654-1812 and marriages and burials 1657-1812 are available at Tyne and Wear Archives Service and in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. Newcastle Central Library also has transcripts covering baptisms, marriages and burials 1813-1851. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Corbridge (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,072 times.