Cornhill on Tweed, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Cornhill on Tweed, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cornhill on Tweed, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norhamshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Berwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CORNHILL, a parish, in the union of Berwickupon-Tweed, in Norhamshire, N. division of Northumberland, 1½ mile (E. by S.) from Coldstream.[1]

Additional information: Cornhill chapelry created in 1730 from the older Norham Parish . St Helen's parish church was buit in 1840, a church is reputed to have stood on the site since 1082 and it thought that there has been a church since Saxon times.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Records of baptisms 1701-1902, marriages 1697-1993 and burials 1695-1993 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/60 1760-1879 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England. (1848).Date accessed: 06 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 749 times.