Corpusty, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk ParishesGotoarrow.png Corpusty

Corpusty, Norfolk
Redundant Corpusty St Peter contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CORPUSTY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (W. N. W.) from Aylsham. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have each a place of worship. [1]

Corpusty St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The church was declared redundant in the 1960's but has been the focus of preservation efforts. See the web links below for details of interventions to try to preserve and secure the building.

The tower has been retained.

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Corpusty like this:

CORPUSTY, a parish in Aylsham district, Norfolk; on the river Bure, 5½ miles NW of Aylsham, and 11 ENE of Elmham r. station. Post town, Heydon, under Norwich. Acres, 1, 018. Real property, £1, 509. Pop., 425. Houses, 107. The property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Norwich. Value, £62. Patron, the Bishop of Norwich. The church has a square tower, and is good. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Corpusty, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Corpusty, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1880
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1732-1812

NTA 1718-1905
1732-1812
1725-1931
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 430/ 1-8.

This parish's registers do not appear online at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library. A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials 1601-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812. BRITISH 1526780 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist

Chapel,
The Street,
Corpusty
Norfolk

Corpusty Primitive Methodist Chapel contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg


It was founded in 1844 and had no graveyard. Now a private house The Primitive Methodist Chapel is located on Norwich Road. The tablet informs that it was built in 1859 and enlarged in 1911.

1936-92: minutes, accounts, collection journals and pulpit notices
Repository Norfolk Record Office
Record Reference FC 47/529-35
North Walsham Methodist circuit

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 685-693. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 3,767 times.