Corton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 

Guide to Corton, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Corton, Suffolk
Corton St Bartholomews.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CORTON, a parish in Mutford district, Suffolk; on the coast, near the East Suffolk railway, 3 miles N by W of Lowestoft. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Corton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Church Records

Corton, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Corton, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1595-1754

FMP 1579-1771 1582-1774
NBI

1579-1900

This parish does not appear on Record Search at present. Refer to Suffolk Church Records

Parish registers for Corton, 1579-1930 The parish church of Corton is St. Bartholomew.

Content Film
Baptisms, 1579-1812. Marriages, 1580-1653, 1682-1754. Burials, 1579-1684, 1695-1812. FHL BRITISH Film
1471162 Items 19 - 20
Baptisms, 1813-1861. Marriages, 1754-1836. Banns, 1754-1811, 1824-1930. Burials, 1813-1912 FHL BRITISH Film
1471185 Items 1 - 8

Registration District

Corton is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Poor Law Unions


Probate Court

Suffolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes C

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,177 times.