Coseley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Coseley, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Coseley, Staffordshire
Coseley Christ Church Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COSELEY, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Sedgley, union of Dudley, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford; comprising the villages of Coseley and Brierley, with part of the village of Ettingshall. [1]

Coseley Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1832 from  Sedgley, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Coseley Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
COSELEY PARISH (1698) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1830-1871
FS 1830-1856


NBI

1698-1837

Dudley Archives hold deposited parish registers Bap 1830-2004 Marr 1837-2008 Bur 1830-1984 and on microfilm Bap 1830-1936 Marr 1837-1934 Bur 1830-1936

Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1830-1856 Mar none Burials 1830-1856 Missing Bap/Bur 1854-1855

Coseley Dark House Particular Baptist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COSELEY DARK HOUSE PARTICULAR BAPTIST CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1728-1837

Coseley Unitarian Old Meeting House registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COSELEY UNITARIAN OLD MEETING HOUSE Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1703-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474626.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 693-696. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,662 times.