Coshocton County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Coshocton County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Coshocton County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Coshocton County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Coshocton County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address 349 1/2 Main Street
Coshocton, Ohio 43812
Coshocton County Website
Phone: 740.622.1456
United Statesgo to Ohio go to Coshocton County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1811
1867
1800
1811
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Tuscarawas County  • Holmes County  • Knox County  • Licking County  • Muskingum County  • Guernsey County

Coshocton CountyMuskingum CountyNoble CountyKnox CountyGuernsey CountyTuscarawas CountyAshland CountyRichland CountyWayne CountyHolmes CountyStark CountyLicking CountyPerry CountyFairfield CountyOHCoshocton.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Coshocton County, Ohio

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coshocton County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

  • Many Court records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
  • Many guardianship records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Coshocton County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • 1790-1907 - Bureau of Land Management database Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
  • various years - Coshocton County maps Courtesy OhioGenWeb
  • Many land records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coshocton County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohcoshocton.jpg

Military

  • Civil War in Coshocton County Ohio. Includes histories of regiments, many with regiment flags.
  • Civil War service men from Coshocton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Coshocton County.
- 97th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies F, H, and I.

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Many Naturalization records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
  • Many Naturalization and Citizenship records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.

Newspapers

Coshocton County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

  • Coshocton County, Ohio Obituaries.
  • Many Obituary records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic detailsfrom their catalog.

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Coshocton County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Coshocton County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • Many Probate records for Coshocton County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see the topic details from their catalog.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coshocton County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Coshocton County Courthouse
318 Main Street
Coschocton, OH 43812
Phone: 740.622.1456 

Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1811, some naturalizations from 1862.
County Health Department has birth and death records 1867-1909.
Common Pleas Court has divorce and court records.
County Auditor has land records.
Court Clerk has civil and criminal cases from 1811, and naturalizations from 1811.[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Coshocton County, Ohio is the Zanesville Ohio FamilySearch Center . Other centers are: 
Mount Vernon Ohio FamilySearch Center
Holmes County District Public Library

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.


Libraries
Museums
Societies

The Coshocton County Chapter OGS
P.O. Box 128, Coshocton, Ohio 43812-0128

Schools

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coshocton County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Coshocton County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Coshocton County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Coshocton County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records


Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coshocton County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places / Localities

Populated Places

  • Avondale (historical)
  • Bacon
  • Bakersville
  • Bartlett (historical)
  • Berlin (historical)
  • Bethlehem Township (historical)
  • Birmingham (historical)
  • Blissfield
  • Blue Row
  • Bluff (historical)
  • Canal Lewisville
  • Canal Spur (historical)
  • Cavallo
  • Chili
  • Clark *Clowville (historical)
  • Coalport (historical)
  • Conesville
  • Cooperdale
  • Coshocton (County Seat)
  • Coxs
  • Crawford
  • Crossroads (historical)
  • Custalogas Town (historical)
  • Delaneysville (historical)
  • Delaware Town (historical)
  • East Plainfield (historical)
  • Flat Iron Corner
  • Franklin
  • Fresno
  • Graham Corners
  • Haddon (historical)
  • Hardscrabble
  • Helmick
  • Isleta
  • JacksonTownship
  • Jones Corner ( historical)
  • Keene
  • Killbucks Town (historical)
  • Layland
  • Lichtenau (historical)
  • Lima (historical)
  • Linton Mills
  • Low Gap
  • Maysville
  • McGuire (historical)
  • Metham
  • Mill Creek (historical)
  • Millsville (historical)
  • Mohawk Village
  • Morgan Run
  • Mount Airy (historical)
  • Munsville (historical)
  • Nellie
  • New Bedford
  • New Castle Township
  • New Guilford
  • New Moscow
  • New Princeton
  • Newcastle
  • Old Wyandot Town (historical)
  • Oliopolis (historical)
  • Orange
  • Owls Town (historical)
  • Pearl
  • Perry Township
  • Pike Township
  • Plainfield
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Pleasantville (historical)
  • Powell
  • Providence (historical)
  • Randle
  • Rochester (historical)
  • Roscoe
  • Rural Vale (historical)
  • Shady Bend
  • Spring Mountain
  • Stringtown (historical)
  • Summerset Valley (historical)
  • Tiverton Center
  • Tiverton Township
  • Tunnel Hill
  • Tyndall
  • Tyrone
  • Wakatomika
  • Virginia Township
  • Walhonding
  • Wally (historical)
  • Warsaw
  • Warsaw Junction
  • West Bedford
  • West Carlisle
  • West Lafayette
  • White Eyes Township
  • White Womans Town (historical)
  • Willowbrook (historical)
  • Wills Creek
  • Wolfes Corner (historical)
  • Zeno (historical)

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 541, Coshocton County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 45,827 times.