Costessey, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Costessey, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Forehoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Forehoe PLU
Registration District Forehoe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hingham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COSSEY, or Costessey, a village, a parish, and a sub-district in Forehoe district, Norfolk. The village stands on the river Wensum. [1]

Costessey St Edmund is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.

A mediaeval church with 19th century renovation. The tower was not completed and has a brick built bell stage. A wooden tower was replaced in 1930 with a lead clad spirelet. A more comprehensive history of this location is available here. Note that it seems to work better in a Firefox browser.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Forehoe 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Costessey, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Costessey, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1900
1538-1900
1538-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1902
JOIN
1725-1837

NTA 1725-1812
1725-1812
1726-1812
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 280 /1-9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Poor Law Unions


Forehoe http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/forehoe_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 17:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,453 times.