Costock, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Costock, Nottinghamshire
St Giles Costock Nottinghamshire.jpg
St Giles Costock Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COSTOCK, or Cortlingstock (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Loughborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1] .[2]

Additional information:

Costock St Giles is an Ancient Parish in Nottinghamshire. Other places in the parish include Highfields and Grange Leys.

The church has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage

British listed building

See also Costock St Giles Wikipedia

Costock Wikipedia



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Costock, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
COSTOCK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1558-1812


Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Costock

Costock - St. Gile's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from  1735, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 11-13, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Costock in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Costock/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 19:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,835 times.