Cotes Heath, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Cotes Heath, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cotes Heath, Staffordshire
Cotes Heath St James Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stone PLU
Registration District Stone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccleshall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Eccleshall
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COTES, a township, in the parish of Eccleshall, union of Stone, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 4½ miles (N. by E.) from Eccleshall.[1]

Cotes Heath St James was formed as a district church from Eccleshall, Staffordshire in 1844.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Cotes Heath St James was formed from Eccleshall, Staffordshire parish in 1844

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1845-1995 Mar 1846-1996 Bur 1844-1992
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1844-1868 Mar 1846-1856 Bur 1844-1868 Missing Bap/Mar/Bur 1869-1873


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 693-696. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 15:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,314 times.