County Borough of Blaenau GwentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCounty Borough of Blaenau Gwent

Wales-county-blaenaugwent.jpg

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Blaenau Gwent, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Blaenau Gwent (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Blaenau Gwent) is a Unitary Authority in the Valleys of south-east Wales.

Contents

History

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county borough was previously part of the former County of Gwent and, before that, the former historic county of Monmouthshire which was abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the town of Ebbw Vale.

Communities

See Communities in Blaenau Gwent

Register Office

The Register Office,
Bedwellty House,
Morgan Street,
TREDEGAR,
NP22 3XN,
Wales.

Archive

The county borough forms part of the Gwent Archives in Ebbw Vale.

Societies

Family History

Local History

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2013, at 11:58.
  • This page has been accessed 325 times.