County Borough of CaerphillyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCounty Borough of Caerphilly

Wales-county-caerphilly.jpg

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Caerphilly, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Caerphilly (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Caerffili) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Merthyr Tydfil in Wales.

Contents

History

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county borough was previously split between the former County of Gwent and the County of Mid Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic counties of Monmouthshire and Glamorgan which were abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the town of Caerphilly.

Communities

See Communities in Caerphilly

Register Office

Register Office,
Penallta House,
Tredomen Park,
YSTRAD MYNACH,
CF82 7PG,
Wales

Archive

The county borough forms part of the Glamorgan Archives in Cardiff.

Societies

Family History

Local History

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2013, at 13:33.
  • This page has been accessed 425 times.