County Borough of Merthyr TydfilEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCounty Borough of Merthyr Tydfil

County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Merthyr Tudful) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Merthyr Tydfil in Wales.

Contents

History

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county borough was previously part of the former County of Mid Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic county of Glamorgan which was abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the town of Merthyr Tydfil.

Communities

See Communities in Merthyr Tydfil

Register Office

Merthyr Tydfil Register Office
Tŷ Penderyn
26 High Street
Merthyr Tydfil
CF47 8DP
Wales

Archive

The county borough forms part of the Glamorgan Archives in Cardiff.

Societies

Family History

Local History

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2013, at 10:17.
  • This page has been accessed 803 times.