County Borough of WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCounty Borough of Wrexham

Wales-county-wrexham.jpg

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of Wrexham, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of Wrexham (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Wrecsam) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Wrexham in Wales.

Contents

History

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. Most of the county was previously part of the former district of Wrexham Maelor in the former county of Clwyd but several communities come from the former district of Glyndŵr, also in the former county of Clwyd, and previosuly in the historic county of Denbighshire which were abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the Guildhall, Queen's Square, Wrexham.

Communities

The county borough of Wrexham is divided into the communities of:

Registry Office

Superintendent Registrar
The Guildhall
WREXHAM
Wales
LL11 1AY

Telephone: +44 (0)1978 292027

Archive

The A. N. Palmer Centre for Local Studies & Archives
Wrexham County Borough Museum,
County Buildings,
Regent Street,
WREXHAM,
Wales.
LL11 1RB
Telephone: +44 (0)1978 317973
Email: archives@wrexham.gov.uk

See also

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2013, at 14:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,943 times.