County Borough of the Vale of GlamorganEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCounty Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan

Wales-county-valeglamorgan.jpg

A guide to genealogy in the County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The County Borough of the Vale of Glamorgan (Welsh: Bwrdeistref Sirol Bro Morgannwg) is a Unitary Authority centred on the town of Barry in Wales.

However, the authority generally refers to itself simply as the Vale of Glamorgan or Bro Morgannwg.

Contents

History

The county borough was formed on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county

borough was previously part of the former County of South Glamorgan and, before that, the former historic county of Glamorgan which was abolished in 1974.

The headquarters of the authority are in the town of Barry.

Communities

See Communities in the Vale of Glamorgan

Register Office

Civic Offices,
Holton Road,
BARRY,
CF63 4RU,
Wales

Archive

The county borough forms part of the Glamorgan Archives in Cardiff.

Societies

Family History

Local History

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 July 2013, at 12:30.
  • This page has been accessed 743 times.