County SligoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
General County Research Information
Further information about County Sligo is available at the following web sites:
GenUKI site.
Archives and Libraries
Online resources:
- Irish Times, also lists all county Heritage Centres' addresses
Cemeteries
Online Resources
1. Various headstones of County Sligo
2. John Grenham's site has some graveyard transcriptions
FHL Resources
The FamilySearch.org web site has a catalog (FHLC) to the extensive collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. several County Sligo parishes have churchyard transcriptions available on microfilm or in book form.
Church Records
Church of Ireland
The Representative Church Body Library has all surviving Church of Ireland registers. Some copies are held at:
- the local parish
- local archives and libraries
- FHL (Family History Library) has few transcription copies of Church of Ireland parishes
Presbyterians
The vast majority of Presbyterian chapel registers have never been centrally archived, and thus are found in various locations. [Regretably, preservation of these precious records and the rich Presbyterian heritage of local Presbyterians as well as descendants of same, at large whose roots originate from Ireland, are at risk unless and until such time as when these registers are all copied into at least microform or, better--a digitized format.]
You must conduct exhaustive, thorough studies to determine to which Presbyterian denomination your ancestor belonged; and to then, determine the whereabouts of surviving registers--if any. The following most likely places to find and search Presbyterian registers starts with checking the following locations:
- the local Presbyterian congregation/church (if still in use)
- distant Presbyterian chapels (if the local chapel closed)
- town libraries
- county archives/libraries
- PRONI (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland)
- The National Archives, Dublin
- The National Library of Ireland
Other:
- The excellent rootsireland web site for County Sligo has some transcriptions from the "Presbyterian Circuit" dating from the year 1806.
- The FHL (Family History Library) has but few transcription copies of Presbyterian chapels
Methodist
The rootsireland web site for County Sligo has some Methodist circuit transcriptions now available online from as early as 1819.
Roman Catholic
The FHL (Family History Library) has copies of some of the original Roman Catholic parish registers of County Sligo parishes in its collection. You can identify these listed online at FamilySearch.org. If you know the name of the civil parish in which your Catholic ancestor resided, or was from, click "Catalog" and type in the name of the parish and then highlight/click on "Church Records".
The National Library, Kildare Street, Dublin, is the custodian of all available Roman Catholic parish registers from throughout the country--including County Sligo.
The rootsireland.ie web site has data from numerous Roman Catholic parishes now online for searching. There are fees attached (about $7 for each entry).
Useful Church Records Web Sites
- GenWeb Ireland - has numerous online links to data-rich lists of Sligo County families
- John Grenham's web site has several helpful links for Sligo names
- Sligo County Surname Query board is here
- CMCRP Project (Sligo) - has a few records for the county
- Civil Registration of births marriages and deaths for County Sligo, online, 1864, on
- Civil Registration of (Protestant) Marriages for Ireland - 1845-1864 online
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information
A map of the Civil Parishes of County Sligo is available at Irish Times site.
A map of the Catholic Parishes of County Sligo is available at Irish Times site.
| Barony | Poor Law Union | Catholic Parish[1] | Catholic Diocese[1] | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Achonry | Leyny | Tobercurry | Clonacool; Achonary and Curry | Achonry |
| Aghanagh | Tirerrill | Boyle | Aghanagh | Elphin |
| Ahamlish | Carbury | Sligo | Ahamlish | Elphin |
| Ballynakill | Tirerrill | Sligo | Sowey, Riverstown | Elphin |
| Ballysadare | Leyny | Sligo | Ballysadare and Kilvarnet |
Achonry |
| Ballysadare | Tirerrill | Sligo | ||
| Ballysadare | Tirerrill | Tobercurry | ||
| Ballysumaghan | Tirerrill | Sligo | Sowey, Riverstown | Elpin |
| Calry | Carbury | Sligo | Sligo | Elpin |
| Castlecomer | Tireragh | Dromore West | Castleconor | Killala |
| Castleconor | Tireragh | Ballina | Castleconor |
Killala |
| Castleconor | Tireragh | Dromore West | ||
| Cloonoghil | Corran | Tobercurry | Kilshalvey, Kilturra, and Cloonoghill | Achonry |
| Dromard | Tireragh | Dromore West | Skeen and Dromard | Killala |
| Drumcliff | Carbury | Sligo | Drumcliff | Elphin |
| Drumcolumb | Tirerrill | Boyle | Riverstown |
Elphin |
| Drumcolumb | Tirerrill | Sligo | ||
| Drumrat | Corran | Boyle | Drumrat | Achrony |
| Easky | Tireragh | Dromore West | Easky; Kilglass | Killala |
| Emlaghfad | Corran | Boyle | Emlefad and Kilmorgan |
Achrony |
| Emlaghfad | Corran | Sligo | ||
| Emlaghfad | Corran | Tobercurry | ||
| Kilcolman | Coolavin | Boyle | Castlemore and Kilcolman | Achrony |
| Kilfree | Coolavin | Boyle | Kilfree and Killaraught | Achrony |
| Kilglass | Tireragh | Dromore West | Kilglass | Killala |
| Killadoon | Tirerrill | Boyle | Geevagh | Elphin |
| Killaraght | Coolavin | Boyle | Killfree and Killaraught | Achrony |
| Killaspugbrone | Carbury | Sligo | Sligo | Elphin |
| Killerry | Tirerrill | Sligo | Killenumerry and Ballintogher | Ardagh |
| Killoran | Leyny | Sligo | Killoran |
Achrony |
| Killoran | Leyny | Tobercurry | ||
| Kilmacallan | Tirerrill | Boyle | Riverstown |
Elphin |
| Kilmacallan | Tirerrill | Sligo | ||
| Kilmacowen | Carbury | Sligo | Sligo | Elphin |
| Kilmacshalgan | Tireragh | Dromore West | Kilmacshalgen | Killala |
| Kilmacteige | Leyny | Tobercurry | Kilmacteige | Achrony |
| Kilmactranny | Tirerrill | Boyle | Geevagh | Elphin |
| Kilmoremoy | Tireragh | Ballina | Killmoremoy | Killala |
| Kilmorgan | Corran | Sligo | Emlefad and Kilmorgan | Achrony |
| Kilross | Tirerrill | Sligo | Sowey | Elphin |
| Kilshalvy | Corran | Boyle | Kilshalvey, Kilturra and Cloonoghill |
Achrony |
| Kilshalvy | Corran | Tobercurry | ||
| Kilturra | Corran | Tobercurry | Kilshalvey, Kilturra and Cloonoghill | Achrony |
| Kilvarnet | Leyny | Tobercurry | Balysodare and Kilvarnet | Achrony |
| Rossinver | Carbury | Sligo | Rossinver | Kilmore |
| Shancough | Tirerrill | Boyle | Geevagh | Elphin |
| Skreen | Tireragh | Dromore West | Skreen and Dromard | Killala |
| St. Johns | Carbury | Sligo | Sligo | Elphin |
| Tawnagh | Tirerrill | Sligo | Riverstown | Elphin |
| Templeboy | Tireragh | Dromore West | Templeboy and Kilmacshalgan | Killala |
| Toomour | Carran | Sligo | Drumrat, Toomore |
Achrony |
| Toomour | Corran | Boyle | ||
| Toomour | Corran | Sligo |
Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths
Government-sponsored registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1845 (Protestant marriages only) and 1864 (whole population). To find information on the vital events of your irish ancestor, here are some helpful websites for obtaining critical information:
1.FamilySearch.org - has online indexes for births, marriages and deaths; click "All Records Collections", then scroll down to and click "Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845 to 1959".
2. To obtain certificates of birth, marriage or death for your ancestor[s], write to or contact the following record office; the cost is €10 (about $13) per certificate:
General Register Office, Government Offices,
Convent Road Roscommon.
Tel: +353 (0) 90 6632900
LoCall: 1890 252076
Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632999
Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632988
There are fees for performing particular searches; see their website for further information.
Estate Records
Estate records may provide names of households in such records as leases, rents, and mortgages. These ought to be consulted and used when extant, especially when church registers do not exist for the time period being researched. Here are some web sites which hold estate records and some transcriptions of same:
- FindMyPast
- Connacht Province Landed Estate Database (online)
- Freeholders Records - many Irish freeholders
Genealogy
Here are some 'gateway' web sites for County Sligo, worth visiting:
Storey, Anne M. The Rev. James Hopewell's Will. An interesting English Will that provides information on some Irish Families - names included, Griffen, Holdsworth, Briggs, Kerr, Enroe, Francis, Hays, Barkworth, Robinson, Oak and Hawkland. Covers years 1773-1917. The Irish Ancestor, vol. XVI, no.2, pages 8-9. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i.
Maps
1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Occupations
Place-Names
Here are two important place-name aids/tools for locating your Irish place and its parish jurisdiction[s]:
- List of All Townlands, Towns and Townships in County Sligo. - click county "Sligo"; then click "Submit" to view a complete alphabetical listing of all townlands, towns and townships and the parishes in which they reside
- Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel A. Lewis; at LibraryIreland.com - provides a rich 1837 historical perspective of each Ireland parish and large township; great for determining which churches existed in each parish--Church of Ireland or Nonconformist
Societies
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Web Sites
To view a list of Sligo web sites, visit FHLFavorites.info for some great sites.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Ryan, James G. Irish Records: sources for family and local history. USA: Ancestry.com, 1997. FHL 941.5 D23r
Web Sites
To view a list of Sligo web sites, visit FHLFavorites.info for some great sites.
Gallery
Genealogy
Strutt, Hon. Guy. Entries From The Bible of Mrs. Robert Gordon. Article contains 10 entries of births and deaths from the Bible of Mrs. Robert Gordon, including places Fort William, Edinburgh, Scotland, Dublin, Corke, and Sligo,. years 1748-1764. Article in The Irish Ancestor,vol.III no.1, 1971 pages 51-52, Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 16:47.
- This page has been accessed 3,026 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



