County of NewportEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCity of Newport

Wales-county-newport.jpg

A guide to genealogy in the City of Newport, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

The City of Newport (Welsh: Dinas Casnewydd) is a Unitary Authority centred on the city of Newport in Wales.

Contents

History

The county was formed (as the County Borough of Newport) on 1 April 1996 following major reorganisation of local government in Wales. The county was previously part of the former County of Gwent and, before that, the former historic county of Monmouthshire which was abolished in 1974.

In 2002, the town of Newport was given city status. The council then renamed itself City of Newport or Dinas Casnewydd.

The headquarters of the authority are in the city of Newport.

Communities

See Communities in Newport

Register Office

Register Office,
The Mansion House,
4 Stow Park Circle,
NEWPORT,
NP20 4HE,
Wales.

Archive

The county borough forms part of the Gwent Archives in Ebbw Vale.

Societies

Family History

Local History

Bibliography

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 July 2013, at 12:48.
  • This page has been accessed 533 times.