Coushatta IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Texas Gotoarrow.png Indians of Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Texas Gotoarrow.png Coushatta Indians

Guide to Coushatta Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Alabama-Coushatta, Performer in an authentic Trible Dance Square.jpg

Alternate names: Coushatta, Couchatta

The Coushatta Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Louisiana[1].


Tribal Headquarters

Coushatta Flag -Tribe of Louisiana, USA.png

Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana
P. O. Box 818
Elton, LA 70532
Phone: 1.337.584.2261
Fax: 1.337.584.2998


Brief Timeline

1539-1543: Encounter Hernando De Soto a Spanish explorer

1754-1763: The Coushatta aided the French, during the French and Indian War,

1763: Coushatta move from "Alabama" to Louisiana and Texas

Established the Coushatta Trace between Louisiana and Mexico.

1891: U.S. set aside land for the tribe

1953/5: Year of Termination - Tribal membership 450 - Tribal land (Acres) 3,200 

1975:Regained federal recognition



The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.


  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2015, at 14:06.
  • This page has been accessed 4,881 times.