Coverham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Coverham
Coverham, Yorkshire
Former Holy Trinity Coverham Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leyburn PLU
Registration District Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Coverham, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

COVERHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Leyburn, wapentake of Hang-West, N. riding of York, 12 miles (W.) from Bedale, and 1½ (S. W.) from Middleham; containing 1254 inhabitants. The parish extends over a space of forty superficial miles, and is divided into the High dale and Low dale. The former includes the townships of Gammersgill, Swineside, Arkleside, Blackrake, Bradley, Coverhead, Pickle, and Woodale, with the village of Horsehouse, which gives name to a chapelry that consists of the preceding townships. The latter includes Caldbridge, East Scrafton, Carlton, Melmerby,West Scrafton, and the hamlet of Coverham Abbey. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Coverham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 COVERHAM PARISH (1607) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1607-1869

1699-1892

1607-1869

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None



List of Chapelry's in this Parish


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Coverham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the COVERHAM PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1707. Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848,)pp. 702-710. Adapted: Date accessed: 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,052 times.