Cowden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Cowden, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Cowden, Kent
Cowden St Mary Magdalene Kent.jpg
Cowden St Mary Magdalene Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1714
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COWDEN (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Somerden, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 9 miles (W.) from Tonbridge-Wells.[1]


Cowden is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent see Cowden Wikipedia

Cowden St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish; although it is in the county of Kent it is a parish in the Diocese of Chichester Sussex see Church website and a parish boundary map may be found at A church near you The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbouring Lingfield, Surrey and East Grinstead, Sussex Hartfield, Sussex Withyham, Sussex

The church of St Mary Magdalene Church Street Cowden has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

The Church of the Holy Trinity Cowden Markbeech (Cow Lane Hever Kent) dates from 1852 and has been designated a grade C listed building British listed building The Church of Holy Trinity forms a united benefice with Hever, Kent and Four Elms see Markbeech Wikipedia and Four Elms Wikipedia and Benefice website

Cowden North West Kent Family History Society Cowden St Mary Magdalen

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 203-210. here and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941

Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cowden, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Cowden, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1903
1813-1836

FS PRs 1566-1805 1566-1805 1566-1805
IGI 1566-1812 1566-1836

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

East Sussex record Office holds:

  • Cowden Kent Wesleyan Methodist Baptisms 1828-1839

Census records

Census returns for Cowden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Penshurst Poor Law Union,Kent until 1836

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

Cowden on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 702-710. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,207 times.