Craig County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Craig County
Guide to Craig County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Craig County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1851 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | New Castle |
| Courthouse | |
Craig County Virginia Courthouse
Craig County Courthouse
P.O. Box 185
303 Main Street
New Castle, VA 24127-0185
Phone: 540-864-6141
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1864-1896,
marriage, divorce, probate and court and land records from 1851[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1851 | 1853 | 1860 | 1851 | 1851 |
Craig County Virginia History
Parent County
1851--Craig County was created 21 March 1851 from Botetourt, Giles, Roanoke and Monroe (West Virginia) Counties.
County seat: New Castle.[1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Craig County Virginia Genealogy Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Alleghany | Botetourt | Giles | Monroe County, West Virginia | Montgomery | Roanoke
Craig County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Craig County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1964):26-27. FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
African Americans
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Cemeteries
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Craig County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Craig County:[2]
|
|
|
- Tombstone Transcription Project Craig County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Census
For tips on accessing Craig County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1860 | 3,553 | ||
| 1870 | 2,942 | −17.2% | |
| 1880 | 3,794 | 29.0% | |
| 1890 | 3,835 | 1.1% | |
| 1900 | 4,293 | 11.9% | |
| 1910 | 4,711 | 9.7% | |
| 1920 | 4,100 | −13.0% | |
| 1930 | 3,562 | −13.1% | |
| 1940 | 3,769 | 5.8% | |
| 1950 | 3,452 | −8.4% | |
| 1960 | 3,356 | −2.8% | |
| 1970 | 3,524 | 5.0% | |
| 1980 | 3,948 | 12.0% | |
| 1990 | 4,372 | 10.7% | |
| 2000 | 5,091 | 16.4% | |
1785
- Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. Troutville, Va.: Burton?, 1972. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [All of part of present-day county of Craig is included.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Court
Genealogy
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Craig County, p. 68.61]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Craig County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Craig County, Virginia:
- - 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Craig Rifles) and Company D (Craig Mountain Boys).[3]
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (The Roanoke Guards).[4]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929.
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Craig County, Virginia newspapers.
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
Indexes to Craig County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
- 1853-1896 - Fridley, Beth. Craig County, Virginia Births, 1853-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1864-1896 - Craig County Birth Index 1864-1896. Batch C868743 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriage
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1865-1937 - Craig County Marriage Index 1865-1937. Batch M868743 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Death
- 1853-1896 - Fridley, Beth, comp. Craig County, Virginia Deaths, 1853-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2001. Available at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Craig County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Craig County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Craig Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Craig County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Craig County, Virginia. Page 712 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
- ↑ George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 June 2013, at 02:24.
- This page has been accessed 3,422 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



