Craighead County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Craighead County
Collage of Jonesboro, Craighhead County, Arkansas

Guide to Craighead County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Craighead County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Craighead County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 19, 1859
County Seat Jonesboro
Courthouse
Address craighead County Courthouse
511 South Main Street
Jonesboro, AR 72401
Phone: 870.933.4520

Contents

County Courthouse

Craighead County Courthouse
511 South Main Street
Jonesboro, AR 72401
Phone: 870.933.4520

County Clerk  has marriage and probate records from 1878 and tax records. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1878 and land records from 1900[1]

Beginning years for Craighead County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1878 1914* 1878 1900 1878
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Jonesboro [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dunklin County, Missouri  • Greene  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Mississippi  • Poinsett

Craighead CountyMississippi CountyPoinsett CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyWhite CountyWoodruff CountyCross CountyCrittenden CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyLauderdale CountyTipton CountyShelby CountyFayette CountyDyer CountyLake CountyARCraighead (2).jpg

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Craighead County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Craighead County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Stuck, Charles Albert. The story of Craighead County : a narrative of people and events in northeast Arkansas. Jonesboro, Arkansas : C.A. Stuck, c1960.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Native Americans who inhabited the region lived both on the highlands of Crowley’s Ridge as well as the surrounding lowlands.
  • 1500s (mid) - , European explorers, starting with Hernando de Soto, came to northeast Arkansas and the high ridge (Crowley’s Ridge).
  • 1803 (pre) - Some groups of Shawnee, Delaware, and Cherokee moved west of the Mississippi River and through the area.
  • 1811-1812 - The New Madrid Earthquakes of 1811–1812 kept many potential settlers away from northeast Arkansas and induced the few Native Americans there to move elsewhere.
  • 1817 - Immigration to the area began increasing due to allayed fears of earthquakes and the attractiveness of the bounties given to veterans of the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812.
  • 1820 - An act of Congress continued the land bounty program.
  • 1850 - The Bounty Land Act in 1850 allowed for veterans of the Mexican War (1846–1848) to obtain land warrants.
  • 1850 - The U.S. Congress granted the state of Arkansas all swamp and overflow lands, many of which were in the region now included in Craighead County.
  • 1859 February 19 - Crighead County was formed.
  • 1869-1885 - A high incidence of courthouse fires in Jonesboro destroyed many of the county’s early documents.
  • 1906 - Jonesboro’s growth was enhanced with the creation of City Water & Light (CWL) as a municipal utility.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Craighead County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Craighead County, Arkansas:

- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Craighead County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Arkansas Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes newspapers for Craighead County.

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Records 1878-1971 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds 1899-1936; Administration bonds and letters 1878-1923; County Court records 1878-1884; Dockets 1887-1892; Guardian bonds 1878-1938; Letters of administration and guardianship 1884-1903; Probate records 1878-1927; Wills 1886-1930.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1947-1965 - Craighead County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C735504 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Craighead County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Craighead County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Craighead County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Craighead County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Craighead County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:31.
  • This page has been accessed 13,854 times.