Cranford, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Cranford

Guide to Cranford, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cranford, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Staines PLU
Registration District Staines
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cranford St. Dunstan, was created an ancient parish, in the union of Staines, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 2½ miles northwest by north from Hounslow. The parish is situated on the River Colne. The church was built prior to the reign of King Henry VIII.[1]

The Victoria County History of Cranford (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, mills, economic and social history, local government, churches, nonconformity, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Cranford Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1564
1564
1564
Images
1564-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1763-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1980 Ancestry[6]
Indexes Unknown findmypast[7] 1564-1834 findmypast[8] 1813-1866 BritishOrigins[9]
1564-1834 findmypast[10]
1564-1834 BritishOrigins[11]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cranford on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington (1962), pp. 177-187. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=85 Date accessed: 27 March 2012.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Dunstan, Cranford St John in Hounslow Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Cranford St John St Dunstan in Hounslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Cranford St John St Dunstan in Hounslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Cranford St John St Dunstan in Hounslow Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  8. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  10. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  11. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 5,384 times.