Crawford County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Crawford County
Guide to Crawford County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Crawford County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | April 1, 1840 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Grayling |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Crawford County Courthouse 200 W Michigan Ave. Grayling, MI 49738-1746 Phone:(989) 348-3200 Crawford County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and probate from 1879
marriage, death and divorce records from 1878,
court records from 1881 and land records from 1863. [1]
History
Parent County
1840--Crawford County was created 1 April 1840 from Mackinac County. It was formerly Shawano County, until the name was changed to Crawford County 8 March 1843. It was attached to Mackinac, Cheboygan, Iosco, Antrim and Kalkaska Counties prior to organization 22 March 1879. County seat: Grayling [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
- City: Grayling
- Villages: none
- Townships: Bever Creek . Frederic . Grayling . Lovells . Maple Forest . South Branch
- Communities: none
Neighboring Counties
Antrim | Kalkaska | Missaukee | Montmorency | Ogemaw | Oscoda | Otsego | Roscommon
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Crawford County, Michigan (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Crawford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Crawford County.
- -
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- The Crawford County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crawford County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 23:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,327 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
