Crawford County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Crawford County
Guide to Crawford County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Crawford County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 23, 1829 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Steelville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Crawford County Courthouse 302 W Main Street Steelville, MO 65565 Phone: 573.775.2376 Crawford County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1832;
Probate Judge has probate records from 1889[1]
History
Parent County
1829--Crawford County was created 23 January 1829 from Gasconade County. County seat: Steelville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Crawford County boundary changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biographies
Cemeteries
Cemeteries in Crawford County at Find A Grave
Census
For tips on accessing Crawford County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Crawford County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Crawford County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Crawford County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- Map of 1904 Crawford County with numerous small settlements (My Genealogy Hound)
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
Marriages
- 1829-1871 - Crawford County Marriage Index 1829-1871. Batch M514841 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1866 - Crawford County Marriage Index 1866. Batch M514843 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1871-1885 - Crawford County Marriage Books C thru E Index 1871-1885. Batch M514842 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Brian Oster Missouri Marriage Records Site
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
Biographies from The History of Crawford County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crawford County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2013, at 00:58.
- This page has been accessed 1,787 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
