Crawford County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Crawford County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Crawford County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Crawford County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Crawford County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Crawford County Courthouse
112 E. Mansfield St.
Bucyrus, Ohio 44820
Crawford County Website
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Crawford County


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1866
1831
1868
1816
1831
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Delaware County 12 February 1820.[1]
  • County Seat: Bucyrus


Neighboring Counties

Seneca County  • Huron County  • Richland County  • Morrow County  • Marion County  • Wyandot County


Crawford CountyKnox CountyRichland CountyAshland CountyMorrow CountySeneca CountySandusky CountyWyandot CountyMarion CountyHardin CountyDelaware CountyLogan CountyUnion CountyWood CountyHancock CountyHuron CountyOHCrawford.JPG


Boundary Changes

  • 1835: Six miles on the western side was added from the Wyndot Indian Reservation.
  • 1842: The last of the Wyandot Reservation was purchased and added to the county.
  • 1845: Wyandot County was formed from an 18-mile strip from western Crawford County. A 4-by-20-mile strip was added on the eastern side from Richland County.
    A 2-by-16-mile strip was added on the south from Marion County.
  • 1848: A 1-by-7-mile strip on the county's southeast was given to Morrow County at that county's formation.
    This finalized the boundaries of Crawford County. [2]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

List and Location of Cemeteries by Townships [3]
Name(s) Township Location
Baseline, St.John's Reformed Lykens Rt. 14 between Gundy's Mill and Millers roads
Benton, Poplar Texas
Biddle, Cole, Swisher Sandusky
Blowers Liberty
Brenner Chatfield Connely and Cary roads
Brillhart, North Union, Tabor Chatfield Rt. 14 and Brillhart Road
Brokensword, Albright Holmes
Brown, Lee Lykens
Buchman Chatfield Rt. 4 south of Silver Creek
Bucyrus Mausoleum Bucyrus City
Burgbacher Chatfield  ?
Campbell Whetstone
Chatfield Villiage Chatfield Rt. 103 west of Chatfield Villiage
City Cemetery Bucyrus City
Clark, Coulter Whetstone
College Hill, Reformed Chatfield Rt. 4 and Albaugh Road
Conley, Charlton Liberty
Crall, Liberty Chapel Liberty
Crawford Co. Mem. Gardens Jefferson
Dapper, German Lutheran Vernon
Dickenson, Dekalb Vernon
Durr Whetstone
Eden Texas
Fairview BillionGraves Galion City
Freewill Baptist Lykens
Galion Mausoleum Galion City
Gifford Whetstone
Gledhill Jefferson
Goodwill Auburn
Hanna, Auburn Auburn
Heller Jefferson
Holy Trinity Bucyrus City
County Infirmary Whetstone
Kennedy Lykens
Kruse Liberty
Leesville Jefferson
Liberty Vernon
Line Polk
Loss Creek, Knisley Sandusky
Luke Sandusky
Martin Luther, Streib Tod
Middletown, Miller Jefferson
Moffet, Klink Chatfield
Monnett Chapel Bucyrus
Mount Calvary Galion City
Mount Zion Bucyrus
Nature Preserve Texas
Nazereth Lutheran, German Lutheran Chatfield
North Auburn, Honey Creek, Our Mother of Sorrows (Catholic) Auburn
Oakland, Tiro Auburn
Oakwood Bucyrus City
Oceola Methodist Episcopal Tod
Oceola Tod Township Tod
Oceola United Brethern Tod
Old Chatfield Lutheran Chatfield
Old Olentangy Whetstone
Olentangy, Kile, Dinkle Whetstone
Park Polk
Pletcher Polk
Quaker (Friends) Holmes
Remer Dallas
Roop (Rupp) Liberty
Salem, Cook, Kiess, Wagner Whetstone
Sandusky Sandusky
Seery Lykens
Sherer, Plains Whetstone
Shroll Whetstone
Sixteen, Sixteen English Whetstone
Smith Jefferson
Smith-Eulis, Haynes, Mays Farm Chatfield
Spore, Bethel, Reiff Holmes
St. Bernard (Catholic) Cranberry
St. John's Lutheran Cranberry
St. Paul's Lutheran, Shealy Liberty
St. Paul's Reformed, Lober, Bilsing Vernon
Stewart Whetstone
Stoltz Bucyrus
Swabb Cranberry
Swail, Cory, Hertzer, Miller Auburn
Swale Cranberry
Talbot, Barnes-Talbot Jackson
Tiro Mausoleum Auburn
Tracht Jefferson
Tustison Sandusky
Union, Tiffin Street, Pioneer's Bucyrus City
Union-New Washington Cranberry
Union Liberty
Whetstone Whetstone
White Dallas
Windfall Lutheran Chatfield
Windfall, Little Windfall Jefferson
Yeiter, Bittikofer, Hope Liberty
Young, Shroll Bucyrus
Zoar, Schneider Polk



Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
  • 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Crawford County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local History
  • Perrin, William Henry, History of Crawford County and Ohio: containing a history of the state of Ohio, from its earliest settlement to the present time (Chicago : Baskin ; Battey, 1881) Digital version at Google Books; Internet Archives; on microfilm at FHL film 962586.
  • Hopley, John E. History of Crawford County, Ohio, and representative citizens (Chicago : Richmond-Arnold Publishing Company, 1912) Digital version at Internet Archives; book available at FHL book 977.127 H2h v.1 & v.2.
  • A centennial biographical history of Crawford County, Ohio (Chicago : The Lewis Publishing Company, 1902) Digital version at Internet Archives.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohcrawford.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War servicemen from Crawford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Crawford County.
- 1st Independent Battery, Ohio Light Artillery (a battery is like a company in an artillery regiment)
- 57th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Ohio Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Ohio, Crawford County Obituaries (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • various years - community contributed wills Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Crawford County Courthouse
112 E Mansfield Street
Bucyrus, OH 44820
Phone: 419.562.2766 

City and County Health Department has birth and
death records from 1908; Probate Judge has birth
and death records 1867-1908, marriage and probate
records from 1831; County recorder has land records;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1834[1]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Crawford county Chapter OGS
P.O. Box 1033 Bucyrus, Ohio 4482

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Crawford County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Crawford County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Crawford County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crawford County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites


Places

Populated Places

  • Bucyrus
  • Galion
  • Crestline
  • New Washington
  • Leesville
  • Oceola
  • New Winchester
  • Tiro
  • North Robinson
  • Sulphur Springs
  • Broken Sword
  • Chatfield
  • Lykens


Townships (Current)
Crawford County, Ohio - Townships.gif

  • Auburn
  • Bucyrus
  • Chatfield
  • Cranberry
  • Dallas
  • Holmes
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Lykens
  • Polk
  • Sandusky
  • Texas
  • Tod
  • Vernon
  • Whetstone

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Atlas of Crawford County Ohio 1855 (reprint) by Crawford County Chapter, Ohio Genealogical Society
  3. Cemeteries of Crawford County, Vol 3, Compiled and Printed by the Crawford County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society, Galion, Ohio

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:47.
  • This page has been accessed 27,449 times.