Crawford County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Crawford County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Crawford County


Crawford County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Prairie du Chien
Courthouse
Address Crawford County Courthouse
220 N Beaumont Road;
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-1405
Phone: 608.326.0200
Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records
WI Crawford.png

Contents

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

County Courthouse

Crawford County Courthouse
220 N Beaumont Road;
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-1405
Phone: 608.326.0200

County Clerk has birth records from 1866,
marriage records from 1820, death and burial
records from 1880, divorce and court records
from 1848 and probate records from 1819;
see Michigan for 1820-1830 census[1]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Lutheran

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Soldier's Grove

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Soldier's Grove, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[2]

Prairie du Chien

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Prairie du Chien, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Wauzeka

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wauzeka, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

City Directories

Court

Land

Local Histories

Map

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Crawford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Crawford County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Dallas County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 5,463 times.