Crayford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Crayford, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Crayford, Kent
Crayford St Paulinus Kent.jpg
Crayford St Paulinus Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lessness
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shorham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CRAYFORD (St. Paulinus), a parish, and formerlya market-town, in the union of Dartford, hundred ofLessness, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division ofKent, 13 miles (E. by S.) from London. [1]

Crayford is a town in the London Borough of Bexley Crayford Wikipedia

Crayford St Paulinus is an Ancient Parish and included Slade Green and Northend in the parish boundary. It neighboured Erith, Kent and Dartford, Kent Ancient Parishes as parishes on the south bank of the River Thames with neighbouring Essex Parishes of Wennington, Essex and Aveley, Essex on the north bank of the river.

The parish church of St Paulinus has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 263-285 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

see Crayford North West Kent Family History Society and Crayford St Paulinus

The parish of Slade Green St Augustine was formed from this Ancient Parish in 1925 Slade Green St Augustine

Other places of worship include

Crayford Baptist Church, Bexley Lane

The Barnes Cray Baptist chapel. (1810)

North West Kent Muslim Association Mosque, Crayford High Street. The mosque serves both Bexley and Dartford Boroughs and was formerly Crayford Methodist Church whose registers dated from 1846.

St Mary of the Crays Catholic Church, Old Road The original Church was built in1842, demolished 1974 following erection of new church.


Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Crayford, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Crayford, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1858, 1884
1813-1818, 1820-1858

FMP 1813-1836


FREG 1558-1982
1558-1955
1558-1985

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley reference PA105 St Paulinus, Crayford 1558-1988

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Family History Library film numbers
Crayford

Crayford Slade Green St Augustines parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Crayford Slade Green St Augustines Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1892-1921


Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Census records

Census returns for Crayford 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Crayford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:35.
  • This page has been accessed 4,815 times.