Crayke, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Crayke

Crayke, Yorkshire
Crayke St Cuthbert Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Easingwold PLU
Registration District Easingwold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1704
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Cleveland
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Cuthbert Crayke is an ancient parish  a parish in the Bishopric of Durham. It was given by Egfrid, King of Northumberland, to St. Cuthbert, in the year 685, by whom it came to the church of Durham; about which time the said St. Cuthbert founded a monastery here. The ruins of Crayke Castle, which is supposed to have been a Roman fortress, and which in the time of the Saxons was a royal palace. Near the ruins of the castle stands the church, which is dedicated to St. Cuthbert.

CRAIKE, or Crayke (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Easingwould, W. division of the wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Easingwould; containing 579 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

CRAIKE, or Crayke, a parish in Easingwold district, N. R. Yorkshire; 2½ miles NE of Easingwold, and 3¾ SSW of Ampleforth r. station. A monastery was founded in the parish, in 685; and destroyed by the Danes in 882. A castle in the Tudor style was built by Neville, Bishop of Durham, who died in 1457.  There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[2]

Neighbouring Parishes

Brandsby, Yorkshire
Coxwold, Yorkshire
Easingwold, Yorkshire
Marton cum Moxby, Yorkshire
Stillington, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Crayke exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
 CRAYKE PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1558-1862

1564-1900

None

JOIN None

1558-1812

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Crayke to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CRAYKE PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1558. A detached part of County Durham, and part of the Bishopric of Durham. A parish in the wapentake of Bulmer within the jurisdiction of  the archdeaconry and peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Durham.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/HBT/25-27 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Crayke was part of the North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900 and is also in  Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.

Poor Law Unions

Easingwold Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848) Adapted 14 November 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 30 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 16:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,977 times.