Creech St Michael, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Creech St Michael, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Creech St Michael, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Andersfield
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Taunton PLU
Registration District Taunton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CREECH-ST. MICHAEL, a parish in Taunton district, Somerset; on the river Tone, the Bridgewater and Taunton canal, and the Bristol and Exeter railway, 3¼ miles E by N of Taunton. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Creech St Michael, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
CREECH ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1665-1814

FREG 1606-1901
1607-1837
1606-1900
JOIN
1665-1814

MARR
1607-1841

NBI

1607-1957
PALL
1790-1814

SOPC 1606-1812
1606-1812
1606-1812
Church records on microfilm

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474593.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/CreechStMichael/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 17 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  9. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2014, at 13:42.
  • This page has been accessed 2,966 times.