Cresswell, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Cresswell, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cresswell, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Morpeth PLU
Registration District Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Cresswell Parish was created in 1836 from Woodhorn, Northumberland Ancient Parish. Ellington is a hamlet or village in the parish.[1]

Additional information:

CRESSWELL, a township and ecclesiastical district in the union of Morpeth, E. division of Morpeth ward, N. division of Northumberland; The district was separated from the parish of Woodhorn in 1836.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/67 Cresswell and Ellington 1837-1848 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images for Cresswell and Ellington have not been loaded correctly and await re-engineering. Images can be found by searching under Woodhorn, Northumberland pending removal and re-engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Cresswell, St Bartholomew, Apostle and Martyr: Records of baptisms 1836-1983 and marriages 1869-1981 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  A transcript of monument inscriptions for Cresswell is available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,001 times.