Crittenden County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Crittenden County

Guide to Crittenden County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Crittenden County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Crittenden County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1842
County Seat Marion
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Crittenden Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Crittenden County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Crittenden County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Land Probate
1852 1842 1852 1850 1842 1842
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Crittenden County Courthouse, Marion, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.
 
Crittenden County Courthouse
107 S. Main Street Suite 202
Marion, KY 42064
Phone: 270.965.3403[1]

Crittenden County Kentucky History

Parent County

1842--Crittenden County was created 26 January 1842 from Livingston County.
County seat: Marion [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Pronunciation

Record Loss

1865, 1870--Disasters destroyed most records.
1880 Census--Crittenden County, Kentucky is missing about 1,500 people.
March 28, 1905 - Photo of "The Day After the Fire that Destroyed Much of Marion, Kentucky"

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Crittenden County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Crayne Marion Nunn Sheridan
Deanwood Mattoon Piney Tolu
Dycusburg Mexico Piney Fork Tribune
Frances Midway Repton View
Irma New Salem Shady Grove Weston
Levias

Neighboring Counties

Crittenden County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kycrittenden.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Some of the best online Crittenden County cemetery resources are:

Additional resources include:

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18506,351
18608,79638.5%
18709,3816.7%
188011,68824.6%
189013,11912.2%
190015,19115.8%
191013,296−12.5%
192013,125−1.3%
193011,931−9.1%
194012,1151.5%
195010,818−10.7%
19608,648−20.1%
19708,493−1.8%
19809,2078.4%
19909,196−0.1%
20009,3842.0%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21055.txt

For tips on accessing Crittenden County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
Bibliography
  • [Asher] Coldiron, Kara Lee. Asher, a Partial Genealogy. Lincoln, Neb.: K.L. Coldiron, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 As35ck
  • [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 B171cp
  • [Cruce] Kidwiler, Pauline Cruce. Cruce Family Genealogical Records, 1829-1988 George Washington Cruce (1829-1912) on Down to 1988 as Nearly as Possible. MSS. Microfilmed 1989. FHL Film 1320816 Item 7
  • [Lynn] Taylor, Jessie Pope. Lynn, 1788-2000. Salem, Ky.: J.P. Taylor, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 L993; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • [Newcom] Newcom, Randall Hershel. The Family of Newton N. Newcom. Elizabethtown, Ky.: R.H. Newcom, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 6509
  • [Rawlins] Talley, Gloria Jean and Leonard Carey Rawlins. One Family: Rawlings, Rawlins, Rollins. Newburgh, Ind.: First Cousins Family Reunion, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 R199tg
  • [Shewmaker] Isakson, Oyjdal Shewmaker Marvel. Shewmaker-Shoemaker, Livingston and Crittenden County, Kentucky. Hobart, Ind.: Isakson, 1967. FHL Film 1320527 Item 8; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • [Tackwell] Koetting, Patricia G. Lowery and Jerome D. Koetting. Tackwell Genealogy. Rio Rancho, N. Mex.: J.D. and P.G. Koetting, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 T119k; digital version at Family History Archives.

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Crittenden County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crittenden County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Crittenden County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Crittenden County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Crittenden County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Crittenden County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1851-1907 - Crittenden County Birth Index 1851-1907. Batch C517261 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1873-1875 - Crittenden County Birth Index 1873-1875. Batch C517263 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874 - Crittenden County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517262 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1852-1861 - Crittenden County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517261 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Crittenden County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517264 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Crittenden County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517265 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Crittenden County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Crittenden County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Crittenden County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crittenden County, Kentucky page 269, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Voice of Dorothy Murphy (b. 1927), life-long resident of Central City, Ky. (2011)
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 20,601 times.