Croft with Southworth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Croft with Southworth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Croft with Southworth, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Warrington PLU
Registration District Warrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1833
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROFT, with Southworth (Christ Church), a parish, in the union of Warrington, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles(N. N. E.) from Warrington. There are places of worship for Unitarians and Methodists; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

 

Church records

Online Records

Croft-with-Southworth Christ Church Parish has online content available as follows:

[FS = FamilySearch.org;LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project; AC = Ancestry.co.uk]

CROFT WITH SOUTHWORTH Chapelry  (1833) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1833-1905 None None
LOPC 1833-1956 1845-1960 1834-1939
LBMD None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A,, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 725-729. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.

Websites

 Croft with Southworth on GENUKI


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 4,523 times.