Crofton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-IGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Crofton

Guide to Crofton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crofton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROFTON, a parish in Wakefield district, W.R. Yorkshire. It includes Birkwood hamlet.[1]

CROFTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Preston (under Gilbert's act), Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Wakefield. This parish is in the honour of Pontefract, and comprises about 970 acres of fertile land, including the hamlet of Birkwood.. The original church stood on low swampy ground, nearly a mile from the present site.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Crofton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
CROFTON PARISH (1615) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812
FREG 1617-1812 1617-1812 1617-1812
FS 1617-1867

1615-1866

None

JOIN None

1615-1812

None

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1615.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464238.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848). Adapted 30 April 2013.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,987 times.