Crosby County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties C
Crosby County
Guide to Crosby County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Crosby County Courthouse
PO Box 218
Crosbyton, TX 79322
Phone: 806.675.2334
County Clert has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and court records from 1887 and
land records from 1886; District Clerk has divorce records[1]
History
The first permanent settler arrived in 1877.
Parent County
1876--Crosby County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seats: Estacado 1886-1890; Emma 1890-1910; Crosbyton 1910-present. [2][3]
Three County Seats During History of County
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1889--Crosby County Courthouse in Estacado caught fire on October 9, 1889 and destroyed the judges', treasurer's and county clerk's offices.[4]
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cone | Crosbyton | Kalgary | Lorenzo | Ralls
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
Epodunk | |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
Early Day Burials
- Lost and Lonely Grave
- Goat Head Hill Cemetery
- Indian Burials
- Military Graves
- Historic Rock House Cemete
Early Cemeteries
City Cemeteries
- Crosbyton Cemetery
- Crosbyton Mt. Zion Cemetery
- City of Lorenzo Cemetery
- Lorenzo West Side Cemetery
- Ralls Cemetery
- Crosby County Cemeteries - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Crosby County Cemeteries - USGenWeb Tombstone Project
- FindAGrave - transcriptions and photographs
Church
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Crosby County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- A History of Crosby County 1876-1977, A collection of historical sketches and family histories composed by County Residents; compiled by the staff of the Crosby County Pioneer Memorial Museum under the supervision and with the cooperation of the Crosby County Historical Commission, 1978. Read the book online at The Portal to Texas History.
- Through the Years: A History of Crosby County, 1952, by Nellie Witt Spikes and Temple Ann Ellis.
- Book References
- Crosby County Photographs - TXGenWeb
Maps
- Crosby County Map
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenweb site
Military
Crosby County Military Records
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crosby County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Crosby County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crosby County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Crosby County Courthouse Historical Marker Text, located at the Courthouse. Marker erected 1966.
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Estacado, TX Crosby County Courthouse Fire, Oct 1889 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17667/estacado-tx-crosby-county-courthouse-fire-oct-1889
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 May 2013, at 00:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,544 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More