Crosby Ravensworth, Westmorland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WestmorlandGotoarrow.png Westmorland Parishes

Guide to Crosby Ravensworth, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Crosby Ravensworth, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union West Ward
Registration District West Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westmorland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROSBY-RAVENSWORTH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in West ward and union, county of Westmorland, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Orton; containing, the townships of Mauld's-Meaburn, Reagill, and part of Birbeck-Fells.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Crosby Ravensworth, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Crosby Ravensworth, Westmorland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1568-1812 1568-1812 1568-1812

Census records

In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464191.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 733-737. Date accessed: 22 July 2012.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 February 2016, at 18:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,950 times.