Cross County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Cross County
Casqui province capital, the Parkin Archeological State Park, circa 1539 by Herb Roe, Cross CO., Arkansas

Guide to Cross County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Cross County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Cross County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 15, 1862
County Seat Wynne
Courthouse
Address Cross County Courthouse
705 Union Ave E #8;
Wynne, AR 72396
Phone: 870.238.5735


Contents

County Courthouse

Cross County Courthouse
705 Union Ave E #8;
Wynne, AR 72396
Phone: 870.238.5735

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1863, tax and county court records from 1865; Clerk Circuit Court has court and land records from 1865; Chancery Circuit Clerk has divorce records from 1866; County Historical Society has newspapers from 1935, cemetery records and family histories.[1]

Beginning years for Cross County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1863 1914* 1865 1865 1863
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Wynne [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crittenden • Jackson  • Poinsett • St. Francis • Woodruff

Cross CountyCrittenden CountyPoinsett CountySt. Francis CountyWoodruff CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountyWhite CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyLee CountyMississippi CountyARCross.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Cross County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For more information, see the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a particular location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Chowning, Robert W. History of Cross County, Arkansas, 1955 : a narrative historical edition preserving the record of the growth and development of Cross County, Arkansas, and chronicling the genealogical and memorial records of its prominent families and personages. Wynne, Arkansas : Wynne Progress, 1955.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • 1541 - Hernando de Soto visited the village of Casqui (near present-day Parkin)
  • 1803 - The sparse population of the area consisted of French hunters, Cherokee, and a few English frontiersmen.
  • 1830s - The Cherokee were removed via the Trail of Tear and settlers from Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, and Missouri moved in.
  • 1862 November 15 - The Arkansas General Assembly created Cross County.
  • 1882 - The first railroad was completed across Cross County.
  • 1900-1927 - The growth of Vanndale and Wynne along the railroad balanced the decline of river cities such as Wittsburg. This transfer of population was increased by flooding in the river valley when the St. Francis River broke through its levees in 1912 and 1913, and especially in the Flood of 1927.

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cross County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cross County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1857-1943 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1863-1921; Administration settlements 1866-1911; Dockets 1874-1922; Probate case files 1898-1930; Probate record index 1866-1878; Probate records 1857-1887; Wills 1863-1943.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cross County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cross County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cross County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Cross County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Cross County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:59.
  • This page has been accessed 13,109 times.