Crosthwaite, CumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Crosthwaite, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent; Allerdale below Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Cockermouth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1669|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
CROSTHWAITE (St. Kentigern), a parish, in the union of Cockermouth, Allerdale ward below Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, ½ a mile (N. by W.) from Keswick.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Crosthwaite, 1566-1934 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Crosthwaite, 1669-1890 at the FHL
Parish registers for Chapelry St. John's-in-the-Vale, 1776-1981 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Chapelry St. John's-in-the-Vale, 1775-1889 at the FHL
Parish registers for Chapelry Grange, 1879-1977 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Chapelry Grange, 1861-1866 at the FHL
Crosthwaite, Cumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|CROSSTHWAITE PARISH Online Records|
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241276.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Crosthwaite on GENUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 23 July 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 16:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,869 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page