Croston, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Croston, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in Croston Parish

Croston, Lancashire
Croston Parish Church St Michael.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley; Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROSTON (St. Michael and All Angels), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the unions of Chorley and Wigan, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster; containing, the townships of Bispham,Bretherton, Mawdesley, and Ulnes-Walton. [1]

Croston began in the 7th century when St. Aidan arrived at the riverside settlements. In the absence of a church, a cross erected as a place of worship. Croston gets its name from 'cross' derived from the Irish and the Scandinavian word 'tun' which means town (cross-town). It is unique as there are no other Crostons in the UK.

Centuries ago the parish of Croston was far larger than it is today[citation needed]. It included Chorley, Much Hoole, Rufford, Bretherton, Mawdesley, Tarleton, Hesketh Bank, Bispham, Walmer Bridge and Ulnes Walton. A charter granted by Edward I in 1283 permitted an annual medieval fair and market to be held on the village green. Ancient maps also depict a castle which is believed to have been of a wooden construction because there is no evidence of a stone structure.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Croston Parish registers and those chapelry registers of its 4 chapels of ease have mostly been transcribed and posted online at the following web sites:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


Other important considerations:

Prior to the year 1821 Hesketh with Becconsall served as a chapelry only (a small subdivision of the parish of Croston). It became a full-fledged parish by act of Parliament in 1821. Searches for ancestry prior to this year, must include searches in the Hesketh with Becconsall Chapelry registers which began in 1745, and Croston parish registers and those of its attached chapelries. The baptisms, marriages and burials for Croston Parish and its smaller chapelries are online for the following range of years: 

CROSTON ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS PARISH (1538) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1543-1900 1543-1900 None
LOPC 1543-1948 1538-1900 1538-1900
AC 1545-1685 1545-1685 1545-1685
MOCO 1545-1727 1538-1685 1538-1684
FMP
1538-1837
JOIN
1813-1837
BRETHERTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1819) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1819-1883 1829-1883 1829-1850, 1871-1883
LOPC 1841-1850 1843-1922 1841-1850
LBMD None 1843-1975 None
HESKETH WITH BECCONSALL PARISH (1745) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1745-1837 1822-1900 None
LOPC 1745-1856 1822-1900 1745-1900
MAWDESLEY Chapelry (1840) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1841-1878 1843-1846; 1873-1878 None
LOPC 1840-1900 1843-1900 1841-1925
TARLETON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1719) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1745-1837 None None
LOPC 1719-1900 1720-1909 1720-1883 
Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 733-737. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 10,257 times.