Crostwight, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Crostwight, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crostwight, Norfolk
All Saints Crostwight, Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROSTWIGHT (All Saints), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (E. by S.) from North Walsham. [1]

Crostwight. All Saints, is an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A small parish church it is noted for its mediaeval wall paintings.

The name of Crostwight is considered to be Old Norse in origin (kross, 'cross' + þveit, 'clearing'). There are seven such names in Norfolk ending in -thwaite, and one in Suffolk, showing early Scandinavian settlement. While the suffix -thwaite was familiar north of the Humber and has survived there, it has been corrupted elsewhere. Forms of Crostwight's name recorded include Crostwit in 1086, Crosthueit in 1198, and Crostweyt in 1810.

Crostwight is recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086, which spells its name 'Crostwit'. At that time, it was held by Geoffrey [Baynard] under Ralph [Baynard]. TRE (in the time of King Edward the Confessor), twelve freemen at Crostwit had one hundred and 50 acres (200,000 m2) of land, and there were twelve borderers, with 16 acres (65,000 m2) of meadow. The whole was described as one league (leuca) in length and seven furlongs broad. There is a reference to the church of St Benet of Hulme, and the people mentioned include Esger the staller and Geoffrey Baynard.

Parish Records

Crostwight, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[9]
Crostwight, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1712-1837

FREG 1698-1812
1698-1836
1698-1812
FS ATs 1726-1812 1726-1812 1726-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1698-1812 Undefined 1698-1836 Undefined 1698-1812
IGI 1698-1812 1712-1836
JOIN
1712-1836

NTA 1698-1812
1712-1836
1708-1812

Known Issues

Images for the parish registers due to an engineering error in loading do not appear at first glance to be in historic records (formerly Record Search).

The images can be located within the images for Crostwick parish.

Baptisms marriages and burials register 1698-1784 located under Crostwick>Baptisms marriages and Burials 1698-1784

Births and Burials register 1784-1812 located under Crostwick>Baptisms 1784-1812

Banns 1757-1812 and marriages 1757-1812 are located under Crostwick>Banns 1757-1812

Marriages and Banns register 1757-1812 are located under Crostwick >Marriages 1757-1812

Baptisms and burials 1784-1812 are located under Crostwick>Burials 1784-1812

Marriages 1814-1836 are located under Crostwick>Marriages 1814-1834

The images awaiting engineering and reloading correctly and with corrections to parish and register year coverage.

Parish registers, 1698-1836

Content Film
Item 19 Baptisms and burials 1698-1784 Marriages 1698-1756 Item 20 Baptisms and burials 1784-1812 Item 21 Marriages and banns 1757-1812 Item 22 Marriages 1814-1836 FHL BRITISH Film
1596232 Items 19-22

Hearth Tax

Transcript of 1664 Hearth Tax http://www.doun.org/transcriptions/documents.php?register_id=168&district_id=22&document_type=720

Census

Crostwight Seven Deadly Sins.JPG

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Crostwight.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 733-737. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  9. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 4,071 times.