Crow Wing County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Crow Wing County

Guide to Crow Wing County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Crow Wing County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Crow Wing County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 23, 1857
County Seat Brainerd
Courthouse
Address Crow Wing County Courthouse
326 Laurel Street
Brainerd, MN 56401
Phone: 218-824-1067
Phone: 218-824-1300
Crow Wing County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Treasurer has birth records from 1873,
marriage records from 1871 and death records from 1874.
Court Administrator has divorce, probateand court records.
County Recorder has land records from 1867
and military discharge records from 1919. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1857--Crow Wing County was created 23 May 1857 from Ramsey County.  County seat: Brainerd [2]
  • For a brief history of how Crow Wing County was named, click here, then select Crow Wing County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Baxter | Brainerd | Breezy Point | Crosby | Crosslake | Cuyuna | Deerwood | Emily | Fifty Lakes | Fort Ripley | Garrison | Ironton | Jenkins | Manhattan Beach | Nisswa | Pequot Lakes | Riverton | Trommald

Townships

Bay Lake Township | Center Township | Crow Wing Township | Daggett Brook Township | Deerwood Township | Fairfield Township | Fort Ripley Township | Gail Lake Township | Garrison Township | Ideal Township | Irondale Township | Jenkins Township | Lake Edwards Township | Little Pine Township | Long Lake Township | Maple Grove Township | Mission Township \ Nokay Lake Township | Oak Lawn Township | Pelican Township | Perry Lake Township | Platte Lake Township | Rabbit Lake Township | Roosevelt Township | Ross Lake Township | Sibley Township | St. Mathias Township | Timothy Township | Wolford Township

 Unorganized

Dean Lake | West Crow Wing

Ghost Town

Old Crow Wing

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Crow Wing – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Crow Wing County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mncrowwing.jpg

Military

Civil War
  • Civil War veteran burials in Crow Wing County.  Click here.

Regiments. Service men in Crow Wing County, Minnesota served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Crow Wing County, Minnesota:

- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I


Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crow Wing County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crow Wing County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 8,436 times.