Croxall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire/StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Croxall, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Croxall, Staffordshire
Croxall St John the Baptist Staffordshire.jpg
Croxall St John the Baptist Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow; Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent; Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1651
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CROXALL (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, partly in the N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, and partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 7½ miles (N.) from Tamworth; containing, with the township of Catton, in Derby, and that of Oakley, in Stafford.[1]

CROXALL, or Croxhall, a township in the district of Tamworth and county of Derby; and a parish in the districts of Tamworth and Burton-upon-Trent, and counties of Derby and Stafford. The township lies on the river Meese, adjacent to the Derby and Birmingham railway, 6¼ miles N of Tamworth; and has a station on the railway. The parish contains also the townships of Oakley and Catton; and its post town is Elford, under Tamworth. The church is old but very good.[2].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Croxall St John the Baptist Ancient parish in both counties of Derbyshire and Staffordshire

Croxall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Croxall St John the Baptist Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's






NBI



1836-1837
PRTS

1589-1812


Derbyshire Record Office reference D1130 has deposited registers Bap 1719-1993 Mar 1720-1753, 1837-1967 Burials 1678-185 1720-1993

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1651-1864 Marr 1651-1854 Bur 1651-1865

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 737-742. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 1 July 2103.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 15:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,389 times.