Cuby with Tregony, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

CUBY (St. Keby), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall; adjoining the town of Tregoney. [1]


Cuby St Cuby was originally a chapelry of the Ancient parish of Tregony.

The church of Cuby is dedicated to Saint Cuby, a Welsh saint: since the parish church of Tregony was lost to the River Fal ca. 1540 Cuby Parish Church has been in fact the parish church of Tregony also. The church was rebuilt in 1828 though some of the medieval masonry still exists on the north side and the tower (of two stages) is of the 14th century. In the south aisle is an inscribed stone of the 6th or 7th century (Nonnita Ercilini Rigati [...]tris Fili Ercilini). The church in Norman times belonged to the alien priory at Tregony but in 1278 ownership passed to Merton Priory in Surrey.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
Cuby with Tregony, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1780-1847, 1850-1913
1661-1891
1661-1684, 1764-1876
FMP 1611-1874 1611-1837 1692-1837
FREG 1780-1901
1661-1837
1780-1900
FS PRs 1661-1696, 1780-1901 1661-1696, 1754-1912 1661-1696, 1780-1900
IGI 1611-1837 1661-1875


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 44

The early registers refllect that Tregony was the parish and Cuby the chapel and are extremely faded and tightly bound with damage. Volume P44/1/1

There is an error in the way point years for baptisms which should read 1812-1878 which awaits correction in future by engineers.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/a_d/cuby.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Cuby with Tregony.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.


Cornwall Online Census Project


Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in this article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:


Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742-746.Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,244 times.