Cucklington, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Cucklington, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cucklington, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norton-Ferris
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton PLU
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CUCKLINGTON, a village and a parish in Wincanton district, Somerset. The village stands near the boundary with Dorset, 2 miles N of Templecombe railway station, and 3 E by S of Wincauton. The parish includes also the hamlet of Clapton-Forms; and its post town is Templecombe, under Bath.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cucklington, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
CUCKLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1837

FREG 1558-1904
1559-1912
1558-1912
MARR
1559-1837

NBI

1579-1837
PRTS
1559-1863

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474602.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Cucklington/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 17 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,059 times.