Culberson County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties C
Culberson County
Guide to Culberson County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Culberson County Courthouse
PO Box 158
Van Horn, TX 79855-0158
Phone: 915.283.2058
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, burial, land, probate
military and court records from 1911[1]
Culberson County has had three courthouses. The county offices were first located in the Clark Hotel, the only permanent structure in Van Horn when the county was created in 1911. This temporary courthouse served the county until 1912, when a grand two-story brick courthouse was erected. The brick courthouse was torn down in the 1960s after the opening of the 1964 courthouse.
Culberson County Courthouse
P. O. Box 158
Van Horn, TX 79855
Culberson County Government Website
History
The first settlers arrived in 1882.
Parent County
1911--Culberson County was created 10 March 1911 from El Paso County.
County seat: Van Horn [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Kent | Pine Springs | Van Horn
Ghost Towns
Grisham Pumping Station | Levinson | Lobo | Old Christian Place | Ort | Pezuna del Caballo
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| |
||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
Epodunk | |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Church
Churches in Van Horn, Texas
- Assembly of God Church
605 La Caverna, P.O. Box 579
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2736 - Church of Christ
Maple Street, P.O. Box 26
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2163 - First Baptist Church
2nd & Houston, P.O. Box 777
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2010 website - First United Methodist Church
206 W. 4th, P.O. Box 67
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2181 - Freeway Church of Christ
607 Desert, P.O. Box 25
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2925 - Highway 54 Church of Christ
Highway 54 & 6th Street, P.O. Box 733
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-9016 - Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Church
P.O. Box 398
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2042 - Primera Iglesia Bautista
W. 2nd & Crockett, P.O. Box 1417
Van Horn, TX 79855, (432) 283-2850 - Seventh Day Adventist Church
West Desert & Elm
Van Horn, TX 79855
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Culberson County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Van Horn and Culberson County, 1973, by Rosa Lee Wylie.
- Culberson County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Historic Photographs of Culberson County from the Clark Hotel Museum and the Portal to Texas History.
- Culberson County Pioneers from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
Maps
- El Paso County, 1881 (shows the portion that later became Culberson County), from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
- El Paso County, 1900 (shows the portion that later became Culberson County), from the Culberson County TXGenWeb site
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Culberson County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Culberson County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- 1900 Census for Van Horn for Culberson County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Texas, Death Index, 1964-1998 (FamilySearch Historical Records) Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Culberson County TXGenWeb site. History, vital records and other information.
- Lobo, Texas website
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Culberson County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 01:29.
- This page has been accessed 1,463 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More