Culbone, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Culbone, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Culbone, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Carhampton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton PLU
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1683
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CULBONE, or Kilner, a parish in Williton district, Somerset; on the coast, at Porlock bay, near the boundary with Devon, 8½ miles W by N of Minehead, and 15 WNW of Watchet railway station. This parish, which is bounded on the north by the Bristol Channel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Culbone, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[7]
CULBONE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1686-1836
1605-1836 (gaps)
1605-1825 (gaps)
JOIN
1700-1836

MARR
1699-1749, 1755-1836

NBI

1696-1783
SOPC 1605-1836
1605-1836
1605-1825
WEST 1686-1812
1700-1836
1695-1751

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474595.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Culbone/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 17 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.


Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,682 times.