CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngCumberland

Guide to Cumberland ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

The flag of Cumberland
Location of Cumberland in England
Cumberland is a maritime and border county in England, bounded on the north by Scotland.

Contents

Featured Content

"CUMBERLAND, a maritime and border county bounded on the N by the Solway frith and Scotland, on the E by Northumberland and Durham, on the SE and S by Westmoreland and Lancashire, and on the W by the Irish sea...

"The county contains 106 parishes and 5 extra-parochial places... eighteen towns are market-towns; and there are upwards of 340 smaller towns, villages, and hamlets... in the diocese of Carlisle. The assizes and the quarter sessions are held at Carlisle...

"The places of worship in 1851 were 161 of the Church of England, 2 of the Church of Scotland, 5 of the English Presbyterian church, 10 of the United Presbyterian church, 24 of Independents, 9 of Baptists, 20 of Quakers, 1 of Unitarians, 96 of Wesleyan Methodists, 23   of Primitive Methodists, 17 of the Wesleyan Association, 2 of Brethren, 7 of isolated congregations, 4 of Latter Day Saints, and 8 of Roman Catholics...

"Pop., in 1801, 117, 230; in 1821, 156, 124; in 1841, 178, 038; in 1861, 205, 276..."

The above extract is from: John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).  For the full account, go to Vision of Britain.

Research Tools

Browse a list of Wiki articles for Cumberland.

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Cumberland. From this map you will be able to determine the Civil Registration District, Deanery, Poor Law Union, Ward, Probate District, of every parish. A Ward in Cumberland was known as a Hundred in other counties.

Civil Districts

When civil (government) registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Cumberland was divided into civil districts, each containing several parishes.  Go to a list of Cumberland districts and the parishes they include.  Read more about England Civil Registration.

Parishes

Go to a list of the historic parishes of Cumberland with links to articles.

Probates

Before 1858, every town and parish in Cumberland was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To learn more, go to Cumberland Probate Jurisdictions.

Websites

To view a list of web sites and/or web pages for Cumberland and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Cumberland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 15:52.
  • This page has been accessed 16,373 times.