Cumberland County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Cumberland County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Cumberland County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Cumberland County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Cumberland County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 28, 1760
County Seat Portland
Courthouse
Address Cumberland County Courthouse
142 Federal Street
Portland, Me 04101-4151
Phone: 207.871.8380
Cumberland County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has death, probate and land records from 1760.
City or Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • Created 28 March 1760 from York County. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Portland City Hall Fire, January 1908.  City records saved. County records from about 1807-1907 destroyed. [2]

Places / Localities

MaineCumberland CountyYork CountyOxford CountyAndroscoggin CountyKennebec CountySagadahoc CountyHarrisonBridgtonNaplesCascoRaymondNew GloucesterGrayPownalNorth YarmouthYarmouthFreeportBrunswickHarpswellChebeague IslandLong IslandCumberlandFalmouthWestbrookPortlandSouth PortlandCape ElizabethScarboroughGorhamWindhamFrye IslandStandishBaldwinSebagoOld Orchard BeachSacoBiddefordArundelLymanDaytonBuxtonHollisWaterboroAlfredShapleighActonNewfieldLimerickLimingtonCornishPersonfieldPorterHiramBrownfieldDenmarkFryeburgSwedenLovellStonehamWaterfordAlbany Township (South Oxford)NorwayParisBuckfieldHebronOxfordOtisfieldPolandMechanic FallsMinotTurnerLeedsGreeneWalesLewistonAuburnSabattusLisbonDurhamMonmouthLitchfieldWest GardnerFarmingdaleGardnerRichmondPerkins TownshipBowdoinhamBowdoinTopshamWoolwichBathWest BathPhippsburg
Modern town borders in Cumberland County, Maine.

Towns

Extinct Town:[3]  Deering[4]

Communities

  • Bridgton
  • Brunswick
  • Brunswick Station
  • Cumberland Center
  • Falmouth Foreside
  • Freeport
  • Gorham
  • Little Falls-South Windham
  • North Windham
  • Scarborough
  • Yarmouth

Neighboring Counties:  Androscoggin | Oxford | Sagadahoc | York

Resources

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Westbrook Historical Society:

Maine Catholic Cemetery Committee's Online Databases: There are 65 catholic cemeteries in this diocese and they are slowly being put online.

Census

  • 1905 Transcription - only Scarboro

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cumberland County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Cumberland County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cumberland County, Maine:


- 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E and I.
- 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E and I.
- 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry , Companies D, F, G and H.

Newspapers

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cumberland County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at [1]

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Portland, ME City Hall Fire, Jan 1908 http://www3.gendisasters.com/maine/5858/portland-me-city-hall-fire-jan-1908
  3. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  4. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:50.
  • This page has been accessed 19,062 times.