Cumberland County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cumberland County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Cumberland County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Cumberland County Courthouse
117 Dick Street Room 114
Fayetteville, NC 28301-5725
Register of Deeds has birth marriage, death and burial records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1930
probate records from 1850 rec from 1900
For tips on accessing Cumberland County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Cape Fear. Constituted 1756.
- Neal's Creek. Established by 1798.
- Stony Creek. Constituted 1787.
- St. Patrick Church, Fayetteville, N.C. Consecrated 1829.
Church of England
- St. David's Parish.
- Barbecue Church, near Olivia, N.C. Founded 1757. Now located in Harnett County.
- MacPherson Church. Established early 1800s.
- Old Bluff Church. Organized 1758.
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- [Jarman] German, John L. "Finding the Father of David German of North Carolina and Shelby County, Indiana," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):87-94.
- [Lewis] Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 L585Ljd; CD-ROM no. 1036
- Cumberland County Register Of Deeds has scanned their deed index books (1754-1976) and land records (1754-1968) and placed them online. To begin your search click here.
- Cumberland Co. School Records 1819-1975 - from FamilySearch-NC County Records Collections, includes images of records from various schools
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Cumberland County.
- March 16, 1865 = Averasborough, also known as Taylor’s Hole Creek, Smithville, Smiths Ferry, or Black River
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project, North Carolina State Archives. Search full text historical newspapers published in Fayetteville.
- Index to Cumberland County Estate Records - A through L, M through Z - via the NCGenWeb Project
- Index to Estate Settlements - via the NCGenWeb Project
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Cumberland County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1766-1962 - Will Books A to P (1766-1962) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Cumberland County Tax Records - via the NCGenWeb Project
- 1808-1937 - Cumberland County Marriage Index 1808-1937 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Fayetteville State University: 1947-2009
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Townships and Cities
- NCGenWeb: Cumberland County - free genealogy resources; part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website.
- ↑ "Cape Fear Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:563. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "John England 1786-1842," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Donna Sherron, "North Carolina Parishes," accessed 12 October 2012. Digital version at Lost Souls Genealogy - free.
- ↑ "Barbecue Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "MacPherson Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Old Bluff Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:04.
- This page has been accessed 7,556 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More