Cumberland Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Cumberland Parish
Contents |
History
Cumberland Parish has served Lunenburg and Bedford counties.
Founded
- 1745[1]
Boundary
Resources
Parish History
Parish Records
Parish Registers
Colonial parish registers have been lost.
- Cameron, John. Rev. John Cameron's Marriage Register of Bristol, Cumberland and Nottoway Parishes, Virginia, 1784-1815 and Other More Recent Records, Mainly of Nottoway Parish. FHL Film 32928 Item 3
Vestry Books
Cumberland Parish's original vestry book (1747-1831) is kept at the Library of Virginia. Copies: FHL Film 30824. Abstract:
- Bell, Landon C. Cumberland Parish, Lunenburg County, Virginia, 1746-1816, Vestry Book, 1746-1816. Richmond, Va.: William Byrd Press, 1930. FHL Film 1036822 Item 2; 1974 reprint: FHL Book 975.5643 K2b 1974
Websites
References
- ↑ Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 September 2011, at 00:09.
- This page has been accessed 1,172 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More